Skip navigation

What do you do when you have a really bad day? So much so, you’d rather spend the next day hiding under a stone, away from everybody else? How do you escape your woes in other words? Do you go for a run? Talk to your best friend about your bad day? Blog about it? How do you get your mind off all the toxic thoughts?

I code.

Well, at the moment, I’m only learning to code but I can definitely see some progress. I was stuck on a couple of challenges for sometime but the joy of resolving them, and moving onto the next challenge is absolutely priceless. It puts everything into perspective for me. By focusing on something difficult, new, unknown, I have no other choice but to think about how to solve the problem at hand, the coding challenge that is. It takes sometime and by the time I complete it, I tend to forget about the issues, problems, troubles I had during the day to begin with.

Why coding?

Coding allows my mind to be free. Free from having a bad day, and by channelling the energy into something more productive. The issues of the day may or may not go away. But I can’t dwell on them so I move on by coding or solving a coding challenge.

The bootcamp

I’m preparing for a bootcamp by DevAcademy by learning the basics, such as HTML, CSS and JavaScript. I’ve also ventured into GitHub but I can’t get my head around it yet. I’ll go back to it eventually. I’m actually quite nervous about the bootcamp. What if it gets so difficult that I leave half-way through? What if it turns out to be ‘bad’ (just as bad as the day I had today!)? What if I fail? What if..? What if..? The requirements to enrol into the course were:

“People who are passionate and intelligent learners; empathetic and clear communicators; curiosity, tenacity, commitment; motivated and excited about problem solving.” (Source: https://www.devacademy.co.nz/faqs/)

I hope I meet the criteria! And yes, there are good days and bad days, and  I may or may not fit the bill on those bad days. But overall I am really passionate about web development and the challenges it brings. I am always curious and try to question everything. I’m trying to be more empathetic towards others, even if they’re not as passionate about coding as me! I believe I have the tenacity and the commitment. I’m highly motivated to take on this challenge as I’ve been thinking about it for 3 years, and I feel like a little girl in a lolly shop, knowing that I’ve officially enrolled and arranged the accommodation. I’m ready! As for my communication skills, well, here comes the bad day scenario, I was accused of not being a clear communicator today, hence the bad day. But I won’t dwell on it. Instead, I’ll open up the communication channels and hear the other side’s view. Sometimes, when you’re so involved in your passion and what you do for a living, “You can’t see the wood for the trees” .

The preparation

Self-study can get lonely. I tend to find the answers when I’m stuck but I’d still prefer to talk to someone about it. The coding issue that is, not necessarily the bad day I’ve had. Lack of feedback is not as motivational but at least I get badges when I complete a challenge accurately.

Just keep coding! Somehow it’s going to be all right!

 

Leave a Reply

