Skip navigation

The inspiration for the title came from one of my favourite plays, “Educating Rita” by Willy Russell. Here’s the link to the plot.  There are hardly any parallels, really. In the play, Rita is much younger than me and her husband is not very supportive of her studies. That’s a major difference right there. I have a very supportive family, which is the most important factor anyone can ask for when it comes to such undertaking.

This is a big deal. There are hundred and one new concepts and terms to get my head around. It is a whole new language, with its own syntax and structure. Yes, this makes it sound like I’m about to learn another language but there is more to it than a mere language acquisition.

Today was the day to finalise the enrolment process. I made one more phone call to clarify a couple of things, and then I was another step closer to my dream course.  I can finally say that the moment has come. I’m over the moon and totally terrified about the prospect, and that’s what makes it worthwhile somehow.

Yes, I could probably do the same training at my place of work. Just as well that I got the boss’ blessing! In a way, I have been training over the last six years, working full-time and studying part-time to receive my GradDipIT. I was able to complete all the required papers, especially at Level 7, with the exception of one – software development. Instead I chose the communications paper instead of the programming one. I needed to fully concentrate on programming, and nothing else. But I found that to be impossible whilst juggling a full-time job. Hence the investment in an immersive training program. I can’t take another 6 years to become a web developer. Otherwise, I’d also need to change the title of this blog post to ‘Educating Belma’s Grandma’. Or is it granddaughter? I’m digressing again…

Anyway, I’ve signed the dotted line so my time has officially begun. I must keep these blog posts short as I need more time to spend on learning HTML, CSS and JavaScript as well as figuring out forks in GitHub, and Nodes in JQuery. But I shall remain calm, and React only when necessary 😉

Stay tuned. I have a feeling this is going to be an awesome ride!

 

Leave a Reply

